Calendar for The Couples Club of Rossmoor

Click on any calendar event below to see details. Scroll further down to see the listing of future events

February 2019
Sunday Monday Tuesday Wednesday Thursday Friday Saturday
     1
2

 

3

 

4 5
6

 

7

 

8

 

9

 

10

 

11

 

12
13

 

14
15

 

16

 

17

 

18 19 20 21
22

 

23

 

24

 

25 26
27

 

28   
Month/Year /

Friday June 7, 2019 8:00 AM
Friday July 5, 2019 8:00 AM
Friday August 2, 2019 8:00 AM

The men’s First Friday Breakfast group meets at the Creekside Grill in Rossmoor.

It’s a convenient location, a beautiful setting, good food, and reasonable prices, including a $6.50 “early bird special”.
Bring cash to pay your separate check.

For information call Pete Peterson at 412-302-6644. 

Monday June 3, 2019 7:00 PM
Thursday June 20, 2019 1:00 PM
Monday July 1, 2019 7:00 PM
Thursday July 18, 2019 1:00 PM
Monday August 5, 2019 7:00 PM
Thursday August 15, 2019 1:00 PM

The Evening Book Club group meets on the 1st Monday of each month at 7 p.m. in Meeting Room 3 at Gateway.

The Afternoon Book Club group meets on the 3rd Thursday of each month at 1 p.m. in the Garden Room at Dollar.

Both groups will read the same book each month. Club members are welcome to attend either book meeting, and no RSVP is necessary. (more…)

Tuesday May 28, 2019 9:30 AM
Tuesday June 4, 2019 9:30 AM
Tuesday June 11, 2019 9:30 AM
Tuesday June 18, 2019 9:30 AM
Tuesday June 25, 2019 9:30 AM
Tuesday July 2, 2019 9:30 AM
Tuesday July 9, 2019 9:30 AM
Tuesday July 16, 2019 9:30 AM
Tuesday July 23, 2019 9:30 AM
Tuesday July 30, 2019 9:30 AM
Tuesday August 6, 2019 9:30 AM
Tuesday August 13, 2019 9:30 AM
Tuesday August 20, 2019 9:30 AM

The Women’s Bridge Group meets every Tuesday at 9:30 in the Card Room upstairs at Dollar Clubhouse.

(more…)

Tuesday February 5, 2019 6:00 PM to 9:00 PM

 

Couples Crab Feed a Big Success!

On February 5, 128 hungry guests enjoyed the first ever Couples Club Crab Feed at the Event Center.

After munching on goldfish crackers, they feasted on salad, bread, and pasta with marinara sauce provided by Classic Caterers. Then came the piece de resistance

chunky pieces of crab. The best pieces required the fine tools — nutcrackers and picks. The succulent crab was then dipped into cocktail sauce and melted butter for a memorable dinner. All the crab was not eaten, so leftovers were sold to the guests for $120 which decreased the expenses.

May we look forward to another Crab Feed in the spring 2020?

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Thursday June 13, 2019 6:00 PM
Thursday June 27, 2019 6:00 PM
Thursday July 11, 2019 6:00 PM
Thursday July 25, 2019 6:00 PM
Thursday August 8, 2019 6:00 PM

 Men’s Poker Faces plays between 6 and 9 p.m. in the Pine Room at Hillside, on the 2nd & 4th Thursday of each month.

We are always looking for new players.  For information about what we play and how serious we are,
call Don Loustalet at 935-7286 or email at donsusan1715@att.net .

 

 

 

 

 

Monday June 17, 2019 8:20 AM to 10:20 AM
Monday July 15, 2019 8:20 AM to 10:20 AM
Monday August 19, 2019 8:20 AM to 10:20 AM


The participants in Mens’ 3rd Monday Breakfast will choose the restaurant when they all arrive at Gateway at 8:20 a.m.
.
So come with a suggestion of where you want to go for breakfast. No need to call to say you are coming.

For more information call Don Mintz 925-705-7512.

Monday May 27, 2019 1:00 PM
Monday June 24, 2019 1:00 PM
Monday July 22, 2019 1:00 PM

The Couples Club Board meets on the 4th Monday of each month except in December.  Meetings are usually in the Mulligan Room at Creekside at 1 p.m.

 

 

 

Wednesday March 13, 2019 6:00 PM to 9:00 PM

The Mardi Gras Party last month was a great success.
Thank you to all these members who worked very hard on the Mardi Gras committee:
Peter Peterson, Chairman; Elaine Thompson, Event Coordinators
George & Mitzi Bray, Karen & Jerry Mikuls, Jacklyn Roenspie, Paul & Claire Rosenzweig
John & Deb Swearingen, and Lonna & Bernie Wolf.
The food was excellent, Hurricane drinks were a big hit and there were lots of people in masks having a great time.

 

 

Wednesday May 29, 2019 1:00 PM to 3:00 PM
Wednesday June 5, 2019 1:00 PM to 3:00 PM
Wednesday June 12, 2019 1:00 PM to 3:00 PM
Wednesday June 19, 2019 1:00 PM to 3:00 PM
Wednesday June 26, 2019 1:00 PM to 3:00 PM
Wednesday July 3, 2019 1:00 PM to 3:00 PM
Wednesday July 10, 2019 1:00 PM to 3:00 PM
Wednesday July 17, 2019 1:00 PM to 3:00 PM
Wednesday July 24, 2019 1:00 PM to 3:00 PM

The Men’s Bridge Group plays every Wednesday afternoon from 1 until 3 p.m at Dollar Clubhouse in the 2nd-floor card room. 

We usually have lunch on the first Wednesday of the month before Bridge at 11:30 at Creekside Grill..

(more…)

Monday April 15, 2019 6:00 PM to 9:00 PM

The “Poor Man’s Tax Party” last month was very well attended by over 200 members and guests, some attired in raggedy clothes keeping with the theme. 
The meatloaf and mashed potatoes served had many of us talking about how our mother’s used to make it.  It was an inexpensive way to feed a big family. 
The barbershop quartet entertained with some oldies, and then had us singing along too.  Also, the centerpieces were handmade pink piggy banks with money sticking out.  The money looked so real. 
Thanks to all those members that made this such a fun event:  You all know how to throw a great party!

1st row: Charlotte Orren, Judy Hirsch, Idelle Roth, Steve Hirsch, Glenn Orren
2nd row: Chris Yahng, Joe Tracy, Esta Podberesky , Richard Roth,
Elaine Kutler, Bernie Podberesky, Joanne Tracy

 

 

 

 

 

Friday May 3, 2019 6:00 PM to 9:00 PM

Cinco de Mayo, May 3rd, 5:30 p.m. at the Event Center 

Here are some great pictures from the Event.

For more information, contact Katherine Cheema at (925)216-9405.

 

 

 

Sunday June 16, 2019 6:00 PM

Come play Bocce and have an Italian Dinner on 23 June 2019.

More details later!

The Couples Club needs more volunteers
for the Bocce games and dinner on Sunday, June 23rd!

     This is always such a fun event.  Even if you haven’t played Bocce before everyone has a good time.  We usually have a big turn out and need more members to help out on this event.  It takes a lot of people to put on our parties each month. And it’s a great way to meet other members in our rather large club.

The committee has 9 members and some have already said they want to help with the Bocce games and set-up.  There are still lots of things that need more help….. decorations, food, beverages, etc.  The first meeting is on April 9th.

If you can help out, contact
Elaine Thompson at 925-472-0911 or thompsonelaine@sbcglobal.net

 

Monday July 22, 2019 6:00 PM to 9:00 PM

Elaine Kutler is the Board Info Event Coordinator for the event coming up on Monday 22 July. Working on an event committee is a great way to get to meet other members in the Club.  This party sounds like a fun one, and they have engaged a great DJ for this night.

Our next planning meeting on Monday, May 6th at 10 am in the Mulligan Room at the Creekside Complex. Only 3 couples showed up for the first meeting in April so we need more help. Couples do not have to call me but can just show up. Otherwise, contact Elaine at 716-912-9504 or email  ekutler2150@aol.com.

 

Saturday August 10, 2019 6:00 PM

 

Join us at the Folk Music Fest

on 10 August 2019 at the Dollar Picnic area.

More details later!

Tuesday June 11, 2019 7:00 PM
Tuesday July 9, 2019 7:00 PM
Tuesday August 13, 2019 7:00 PM

The Flick Fans of the Couples Club

The Flick Fans needs a new Coordinator to organize the group.

This job entails picking a movie and hosting on the 2nd Tuesday of each month at the Peacock Theater.

If you like Movies, call Sherie Pedersen on 925-254-2269 or email her at sheriep@comcast.net

 

 

Friday September 20, 2019 6:00 PM to 9:00 PM

Join us for Cabaret in the Event Center on 20 September 2019.


The Club needs more members to volunteer to help plan this party.  In past years we have had some great entertainment, and it was such a fun evening to enjoy some libations and listen to the singers in a cabaret atmosphere.

     Helping to plan an event is a great way to meet other members of our very large Club.  It takes many couples to make our parties happen.  There are many different areas one can work on….. catering, beverages, decorations, entertainment, reservations, publicity……..

     A committee meeting is scheduled for Tuesday, May 28th at 2 p.m.. in Card Room #1, 2nd floor, Dollar Club House.  To help out contact Lilly Kite at 925-939-3754 or lillykite@gmail.com 

 

Monday October 28, 2019 6:00 PM to 9:00 PM

Join us for Oktoberfest

at the Event Center on 28 October 2019.

More details later!

Sunday November 17, 2019 6:00 PM to 9:00 PM

The Couples Club of Rossmoor presents

our “Wine and Sign” social event and Annual Meeting

on 17 November 2019.

More details later!

Sunday December 15, 2019 6:00 PM to 9:00 PM

The Couples Club presents our Holiday Dinner Dance

on 15 December 2019 at the Event Center.

More details later!

Wednesday June 19, 2019 11:30 AM
Wednesday July 17, 2019 11:30 AM

The Ladies Who Lunch group of the Couples Club plans a monthly outing to a Restaurant in the local area. 

The LADIES WHO LUNCH, Wednesday, May 15th, 11:30 am
La Finestra Ristorante in Moraga

The restaurant is located in the Moraga Shopping at 1419 Moraga Way, Moraga.  The Italian eatery offers Sicilian influenced dishes in a modest setting with outdoor seating.  Their website, www.LaFinestraRistorante.com , shows the many options on their lunch menu.

The ladies will gather at 11:30 a.m. in the Gateway parking lot, at the corner of Golden Rain and Tice Creek, to form carpools. 

This ladies group is a social gathering, usually once a month, for a long time and new club members.  It is a great way to get to know others in the Club in a smaller more intimate atmosphere. 

New members are especially encouraged to participate.  For reservations, call or email Lilly Kite at, 925-939-3754 or lillykite@gmail.com by Sunday, May 12.  For last minute cancellations, call Eleanor Clark at 925-937-1623.